building terrain

For all terrain based discussions.

Moderators: Rangers, Leaders

Squire

building terrain

Thu Oct 08, 2009 2:34 am

Hi Guys

I'm fairly new to the hobby and have very little terrain. I would like some suggestions on how to make good terrain without spending a lot of money. I would appreciate any help.
it is a pity that our friends lie in between, if no land divided Isengard and Mordor then they could fight while we watched and waited.

[CENTER]Image[/CENTER]

Standard Bearer

Re: building terrain

Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:01 am

Look around for cheap things, or even free things.

Cardboard from cereal boxes is a great thing for terrain. I generally find a use for it in all my projects.
Home-made flock can (I think) be made from sawdust dyred green.
Long grass can be made from brush bristles.
Clumps of foliage from ripped up sponges, and trees armatures from dried out grape stems.
Sand from the beach for basing.
Broken up corks for rocks and boulders.
And how's this for a terrain tip? Try going to a hardware store that sells polystyrene or styrofoam and askeing for pieces that have been broken or damaged in some way. As these pieces are not usually of much use or value to them, they might give them to you for a lower price, or even for free.
Balsa wood is one of the cheapest modelling materials that I know of, and as it's so versatile, it's worth every cent.
Also, try making use of broken or badly damaged minis to add flavour to terrain.

As you're new to the hobby, try to keep your projects easy enough, and managable, and slowly progress to bigger and far cooler things as you get better.

Good Luck!

EDIT: There are plenty of good articles for terrain out there that you can garner inspiration from. Here are some that I know of http://www.one-ring.co.uk/phpBB2/kb.php?mode=cat&cat=2, but there are many others besides.
http://bdhobbymadness.blogspot.co.nz/

May the wind under your wings bear you to where the sun sails and the moon walks!

Squire