NEW Lotr Hobbit FAQs released: All the changes

For all questions and clarifications concerning the Strategy Battle Game rules.

Moderators: Rangers, Leaders

User avatar
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:15 am

NEW Lotr Hobbit FAQs released: All the changes

Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:18 am

FAQs from Middle-earth
Calling all Strategy Battle Game fans, news from the Mark has arrived!

The long awaited update to the FAQ is finally here!
There are new updates for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey™ rules manual as well as for all five of The Lord of the Rings™ sourcebooks.
The Middle-earth™ team have been hard at work answering many of the burning questions that have been present within the community since the last update.


https://www.warhammer-community.com/201 ... dle-earth/

All the changes are listed below on this page

User avatar
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:15 am

Re: NEW Lotr Hobbit FAQs released

Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:20 am

MEN

Q: Can Elendil ever call a Heroic Strike as Narsil means he is potentially always calling a Heroic Combat? (pg 41)

A: Yes. Elendil calling a free Heroic Combat with Narsil is optional. It is completely fine for him to choose not to call his free Heroic Combat and instead spend a Might point to call a Heroic Strike.

User avatar
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:15 am

Re: NEW Lotr Hobbit FAQs released

Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:24 am

RULE BOOK


Page 69 – Weapons and Wargear, Spears Change the second sentence of the second paragraph to the following: A spear-armed model can contribute an attack if it is in base contact with a friendly model that is engaged in a combat.

Page 73 – The Ring, Wearing the Ring Add the following to the end of the paragraph: ‘Should a model put the Ring on whilst mounted, then their mount will panic and throw the rider. The rider must take a Thrown Rider test.’

Page 73 – The Ring, Invisible Add the following sentence to the end of the second paragraph: ‘As this is not actually a test of a model’s courage, models that automatically pass Courage tests (such as those with the Bodyguard special rule or under the effect of the Fury Magical Power) must still take this test.


Page 79 – Magical Powers, Fortify Spirit Change the second paragraph to read: ‘The caster can target either themselves or a friendly model within range. While this power is in effect, the model rolls two extra D6 when making Resist tests. These extra dice do not reduce the model’s Will store and can be rolled even if they have no Will remaining, or choose not to expend any Will. This spell may affect multiple targets at the same time if successfully cast in subsequent turns.


Page 178 – Thror, Profile Change Thror’s Defence value to 9.
Page 178 – Thror, Wargear Change the entry to read: ‘Dwarf heavy armour, sword and shield.’


Move Phase
Q: Normally, if a model is engaged with an enemy model, it cannot move in that Move phase, but what happens if one of the models is killed before the end of the Move phase? For example, Good has priority. A Warrior of Minas Tirith™ charges an Orc. In the Evil player’s Move phase, they use a Ringwraith to cast Black Dart on the Warrior of Minas Tirith, killing him. Can the Orc then make its move as the Move phase is not yet over? (pg 21) A: Yes, as the Orc is now free to move, it may do so.

Q: Can you rotate/spin one of your own models in your opponents’ Move or Shoot phase? (pg 21) A: No.
Q: If a model’s base cannot fit through a gap in terrain, however, in reality that model would be able to fit through that gap (such as a Cavalry model moving through a gate, or a Spider moving through two trees) can that model move through as normal? (pg 24) A: Technically no as its base will need to fit through in order for it to move. However, if it is obvious that a model could move through the gap, even though its base will not allow it, then you and your opponent are free to agree that this is possible. In fact we would encourage you to play this way.


Q: In situations when a model can draw multiple lines of sight to large models, who gets to choose which line the shot takes? (pg 33) A: In these situations, the shooting model's controlling player should roll a D6 before rolling To Hit. On a 1-3, the Evil player chooses the path that the shot takes. On a 4+, the Good player may choose. If their opponent is allowed to choose, the controlling player may elect to target a different model instead should the shot no longer be preferable. Note that if there are models In The Way, then a path must be selected that goes through at least one model. Good models still cannot shoot at enemy models that are obscured by friendly models.


Q: Can a model back away over a Prone model, or do they count as Trapped? (pg 41) A: If the Prone model is a friendly model, then it may still Make Way as normal. If the Prone model is an enemy model, then you may not back away over them as to jump over a Prone model requires a Jump test, which only happens in the Move phase.

Q: If a player rolls to wound individually, do they have to make the decision to Might the To Wound rolls individually, or can they come back to the dice after they've rolled all To Wound rolls? (pg 43) A: They must make the decision to Might a To Wound roll individually, once another roll has been made, they cannot go back.


Cavalry Q: How does killing riders/mounts interact with working out if a force is considered to be broken? Does killing either part of a mounted model count as a casualty? (pg 51) A: Whilst this is simple in principle, it is fairly complicated in practice – here is how to go about tracking it. A mounted model will only count as a casualty when both parts of the model have been slain. This is not usually an issue as most mounts will flee as soon as the rider is slain – so whenever the rider is slain, a casualty will be scored. However, there are some instances when a mount may stay upon the battlefield once the rider is slain (such as a Warg passing its Courage test once its rider has been slain). In these instances you will cause a casualty for each full model that is slain, although the mount and rider do not necessarily need to be from the same model. For example, if one Warg Rider has its rider slain and the Warg stays, and another Warg Rider has the Warg slain and the rider survives – this will count as one casualty as one full Warg Rider (the rider from one and the Warg from the other) has been slain.


Q: If a Hero calls a Heroic Move, then subsequently fails their Courage test to charge a Terror-causing enemy, do they still get to call ‘With Me!’? (pg 57) A: Yes as ‘With Me!’ is called before the Courage test is taken.
Q: If a model is part of a Heroic March (or affected by a drum) and then has Command/Compel cast on it, or is forced to move in any other way, does it use its base movement or the additional movement? (pg 58) A: The model will use its base movement.


Q: If a Monster chooses to Hurl, can it Hurl from any point on its base or only where its base touches the target model’s base? (pg 63) A: Only where its base touches the target model’s base. However, the path of the thrown model may not cross over any part of the Hurling Monster’s base.


Q: If a model calls a Heroic Strike, do you roll to increase their Fight value at the start of the Fight phase or at the start of the model’s Duel? (pg 59) A: At the start of the model’s Duel.


Q: Do ponies give a charge bonus (e.g. Extra Attack, Knock to the Ground)? (pg 51) A: Yes.



Q: If a monster wins a Fight, can other friendly models involved in the same Fight strike the enemy model before a Brutal Power Attack is performed? (pg 63) A: Yes, but if the enemy model is slain by these Attacks, the Monster cannot then perform its Brutal Power Attack.
Q: If the Rider of a Monstrous Mount uses the Piercing Strike special strike, and wins the Fight, can that model use the increased Strength to alter the Hurl distance as part of a Brutal Power Attack? (pg 63) A: No, you use a Brutal Power Attack or resolve strikes in the normal way.

Q: If the Rider of a Monstrous Mount uses the Piercing Strike special strike, and wins the Fight, can that model use the increased Strength to Rend as part of a Brutal Power Attack? (pg 63) A: No, you use a Brutal Power Attack or resolve strikes in the normal way.

Q: If the Rider of a Monstrous Mount uses the Feint special strike and wins the Fight, can that model re-roll 1s To Wound as part of a Rend Brutal Power Attack? (pg 63) A: No, you use a Brutal Power Attack or resolve strikes in the normal way.



Q: If the Rider of a Monstrous Mount uses the Feint special strike and wins the Fight, can that model re-roll 1s To Wound models Hurled as part of a Brutal Power Attack? (pg 63) A: No, you use a Brutal Power Attack or resolve strikes in the normal way.

Q: If a Monster wins a Fight against an enemy model that is Prone and elects to Rend, does it double its Attacks for the model being Prone? (pg 63) A: No, you use a Brutal Power Attack or resolve strikes in the normal way.

Q: Can a Monster choose to Barge a model less than 3" if there is a direction in which that model can be moved 3"? (pg 64) A: No. If a model that is barged can be moved 3", in any direction, then it must be. A model cannot be chosen to be barged less than 3" in a certain direction, and subsequently be knocked Prone, unless there is no physical way for it to be moved 3" in any direction.


Q: If a model is armed with an Elven blade, lance or any other similar weapon that bestows an advantage, but chooses not to use it in a Duel, does that model still gain the advantage of having that weapon? (pg 68) A: No, the model must be using the weapon to gain its benefits. Similarly, a model will not benefit from having an Elven blade if they choose to use a shield.

Q: Can a model carry both a pike and a crossbow? (pg 69) A: Yes.


Q: If a Cavalry/Monstrous Mount model chooses to Feint or Whirl with a sword or flail, it reduces its Fight value. Can the model then choose to use the Fight value of its mount now that its Fight value has been reduced? For example, if a Hunter Orc on Warg elected to Feint and reduces its Fight by D3, can it now use its Warg’s Fight value of 3 for the Duel roll? (pg 70) A: No. Once you have chosen the highest Fight value available, you must continue to use that Fight value with any and all penalties for the duration of the Fight.

Q: If a model is Feinting, and requires a 6/4 or similar To Wound, can they re-roll 1s on both dice or just the first? (pg 70) A: You can re-roll 1s on both dice, even if you roll a 1 on both dice.

Q: If a model has one hand weapon modelled on the mounted version, and a different one modelled on the foot version, can I use either to make special strikes? (pg 70) A: No, you may only use the special strike of the weapon held by the model on the table.

Q: If a Goblin Prowler traps a Defence 3 or 4 model, uses their twohanded weapon, as well as uses the Piercing Strike special strike and rolls +3 for their Strength bonus, they can Wound automatically. In this situation, and any others like it, does the Prowler automatically Wound or does a roll of a 1 To Wound always fail? (pg 70) A: The Prowler Wounds automatically. Note that they still need 3+ To Wound but in the described situation, they get to add 2 to their dice (+1 for Backstabbers and +1 for using a two-handed weapon) turning the 1 into a 3

Q: If a model with a spear is in range of a banner, but the model they are supporting is not, can I re-roll the spear supporter’s dice? (pg 72) A: Yes.
Q: If an enemy model is involved in a Fight within 3" of my banner, but my model is not, can I re-roll a single dice for the Duel roll for the Fight being within 3" of my banner? (pg 72) A: No, only friendly models that are themselves in range of a banner may benefit from its effects.


Q: If a model wearing The One Ring is involved in a combat, can that combat be targeted with a shooting attack? (pg 73) A: Only if there is another model on the same side as the Ringbearer involved in the same fight, however, the Ringbearer can never be hit.


Q: Can a model with the Command/Compel magical power use it to make a model that is already engaged in a combat drop an object? (pg 78) A: No.

Q: Can a model that is the victim of either the Command/Compel or Immobilise/Transfix Magical Powers call Heroic Actions, use Magical Powers, call Stand Fast!, use special strikes or perform any similar action that would require them to be free to move? (pg 79) A: No to all.

Q: Can a model that is the victim of either the Command/Compel or Immobilise/Transfix Magical Powers use Might, Will or Fate to modify dice rolls, Resist Magical Powers and/or prevent Wounds? (pg 79) A: Yes.

Q: The rules for Immobilise/Transfix no longer state that the victim can do nothing further that turn. How does this affect the Shielding rule or Rúmil’s Swift Parry special rule? What about Boromir’s Horn of Gondor™? (pg 79) A: The best way to resolve this is to work out if the special rule is an active ability (ie, would require the user to physically move their body or have control over their functions, such as blowing a horn or parrying a blow) or a passive ability (ie, would not require the user to move so their ability is always in effect, such as being terrifying or having a huge blubbery mass). If a model is under the effects of Immobilise/Transfix, they may not use active abilities (such as Swift Parry or the Horn of Gondor), but may use passive abilities (such as Terror or Harbinger of Evil).


Q: The Channeled versions of Chill Soul and Panic Steed affect models beyond the original target. Can these other models attempt to Resist the spell? (pg 79) A: Yes, but only one model may attempt to Resist the spell.


Q: Can the Strength 7 hit inflicted by the Channelled version of the magical power Your Staff is Broken! affect any other models apart from Gandalf™ the Grey/Gandalf the White, Saruman the White and Radagast™ the Brown? (pg 80) A: Only models that are armed with a staff.

User avatar
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:15 am

Re: NEW Lotr Hobbit FAQs released

Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:25 am

RULE BOOK -- continued.

Q: Can a model who has failed a Courage test to charge a terrifying enemy do anything further that round other than fight in combat if charged, e.g., shoot or provide spear support to a friendly model? (pg 83) A: Yes.


Lords of Battle Scenario

Q: In the Lords of Battle scenario, if a Cavalry mount suffers a Wound but the rider is unharmed, does the opposing player gain a Victory point for inflicting a Wound on the mount? (pg 51-53 & 107) A: Yes, however mounts that flee the board as a result of their rider being killed do not grant Victory points.
Q: If an enemy model flees the board, do I still get the Victory points for it? (pg 107) A: Yes, models that flee are removed as casualties

Q: Are Orcrist’s Wounds (and other doubling Wounds like Thrydan’s Mighty Blow or Duinhir’s Go For The Eyes!) multiplied before Fury rolls are made? (pg 168) A: Yes.

Q: When Bifur the Dwarf is reduced to one Wound, his Battle Damaged rule is activated. If he is subsequently healed (by Renew/ Healing Herbs, etc), does he continue to gain the benefits of this rule? (pg 169) A: No, this rule only applies whilst Bifur is on one Wound.

Q: Can Bombur the Dwarf’s Raising Spirits be used if he has already been charged that turn? (pg 170) A: No.

Q: Does Lindir’s Wise Council special rule affect all four Elrond™ profiles? (pg 177) A: Yes.

Q: What does the Goblin King's Thrown Goblin count as? Can he move and throw it – if so how far? Is it a shooting attack so therefore affected by Cast Blinding Light and Pall of Darkness? (pg 188) A: Treat it as a Throwing Weapon that can only be used in the Shoot phase. It will still be affected by Blinding Light and Pall of Darkness

Q: Can a Fell Warg charge a partially obscured model wearing an Elven cloak that is more than 6" away? (pg 191) A: Yes

User avatar
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:15 am

Re: NEW Lotr Hobbit FAQs released

Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:27 am

The Free Peoples Sourcebook – version 1.3


Q: Can Erestor use his Noldorin Throwing Daggers in a Fight? (pg 18) A: Yes. This is a special exception where his daggers count as both throwing weapons and hand weapons

Q: Can a Wood Elf Sentinel use ‘Eldamar Madrigal’ to force a model to lie down, dismount or anything else that could be considered as a complex action? (pg 28) A: No.

Q: If a King's Champion and/or his Heralds are separated for any reason, do they immediately lose their Defence bonus? (pg 35) A: Yes/no – it depends on how and why they are separated. Should the models be moved out of base contact due to exterior effects (eg: Sorcerous Blast, being hurled, making way after a lost Duel roll or similar) then they will immediately lose their bonus. If they are separated because players are making clear which models are in which fight (as per page 23 of the main Rules Manual) they will retain their bonus – this tiny adjustment is to make it clear which models are actually fighting each other, and not to gain some undue advantage


Q: Is the King’s Champion a named Hero, meaning that you can only take one instance of him in your army? (pg 35) A: No

Q: If I chose Gandalf ™ the Grey from The Free Peoples Sourcebook, can I still buy him the cart? Does his profile in The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey™ rules manual replace his one in The Free Peoples Sourcebook? (pg 43) A: If you take Gandalf the Grey from The Free Peoples Sourcebook, you may still take his cart. However, if you take the one from The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey™ rules manual then you may not.
Q: Do Frodo Baggins and Bilbo Baggins™ (and anyone else for that matter) still use the rules for The Ring published in The Free Peoples Sourcebook? (pg 45) A: No. The rules for The Ring in The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey™ rules manual replace those found in The Free Peoples Sourcebook.

User avatar
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:15 am

Re: NEW Lotr Hobbit FAQs released

Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:27 am

The Fallen Realms Sourcebook – version 1.

Q: If a Demolition charge is detonated in range of a cavalry model (or any other form of mount for that matter), are the D6 wounds shared between the mount and the rider? (pg 24) A: No. When you roll the D6 for the number of Wounds, apply the result to both the mount and the rider.

Q: If the Betrayer is riding a Fell Beast and Rends a model as part of a Brutal Power Attack, does he re-roll failed rolls To Wound against the rended model as a result of his Bane of Kings special rule? (pg 27) A: No

Q: If a model on a War Camel charges into a model and kills it with its Impaler rule, can the model Charge a different target? (pg 29) A: No.

Q: If a model with the Impaler special rule charges an infantry model and kills it meaning it is no longer in base contact with an enemy model, then is subsequently charged by another infantry model, does it still receive the bonuses for charging in the ensuing Fight phase? (pg 29) A: Yes

Q: Is it possible to Support the Golden King of Abrakhân with a spear or pike? (pg 30) A: Yes.

Q: Can a Harad Taskmaster use its own Might on the roll to ensure that another Hero performs a Heroic Action for free? (pg 31) A: No.

Q: If Amdûr, Lord of Blades, is mounted and gets knocked off his horse then subsequently passes his roll for Unyielding Combat Stance, does he remain on his horse? (pg 41) A: No. Amdûr will stay stood up but his horse will have already fled.

Q: Can an Easterling War Priest channel Fury? (pg 42) A: Yes.

Q: What exactly does an Easterling War Priest’s Fury affect? Does it affect mounts? (pg 42) A: It will affect everything in the Eastern Kingdoms army list, whether this is Warriors, Heroes, mounts or even Ringwraiths.


Q: Does the ‘Taking Multiple Courage Tests’ rule on page 47 of the main rules manual mean that a Mûmak only ever has to take a single Courage test for its Stampede! special rule, regardless of how many Wounds it suffers in a single turn? (pg 32) A: No. They must take a Courage test for each Wound suffered.

User avatar
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:15 am

Re: NEW Lotr Hobbit FAQs released

Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:29 am

Mordor™ Sourcebook – Version 1.


Q: If Sauron has The One Ring and suffers more than one Wound that would otherwise destroy him, how many rolls would he make for The One Ring to sustain him on 1 Wound? (pg 17) A: You roll for each Wound that Sauron suffers.
Q: Can Sauron use Might for his The One Ring roll? (pg 17) A: Yes.

Q: If the Betrayer is riding a Fell Beast and Rends a model as part of a Brutal Power Attack, does he re-roll failed rolls To Wound against the rended model as a result of his Bane of Kings special rule? (pg 20) A: No.

Q: If the Betrayer is riding a Fell Beast and Hurls a model as part of a Brutal Power Attack, does he re-roll failed rolls To Wound against the Hurled model and/or any other models the Hurled model passes through as a result of his Bane of Kings special rule? (pg 20) A: No.

Q: Does the Taking Multiple Courage Tests rule on page 47 of the main rules manual mean that Shelob only ever has to take a single Courage test for her Hunting Instinct special rule, regardless of how many Wounds she suffers in a single turn? (pg 24) A: No. She must take a Courage test for each Wound suffered

Q: Can Gothmog’s Master of Battle special rule be used after Gothmog has already performed a Heroic Action in that same phase? (pg 24) A: No. A model may only call a single Heroic Action each phase.

Q: Can Gothmog use his Master of Battle special rule to make use of Grinnah’s ‘Swap With Me’ Heroic Action? (pg 24) A: No.

Q: Does the Taking Multiple Courage Tests rule on page 47 of the main rules manual mean that Shelob only ever has to take a single Courage test for her Hunting Instinct special rule, regardless of how many Wounds she suffers in a single turn? (pg 24) A: No. She must take a Courage test for each Wound suffered.

Q: Does the Spider Queen count as a named Hero? (pg 29) A: Yes.

Q: Can an Orc Taskmaster use its own Might on the roll to ensure that another Hero performs a Heroic Action for free? (pg 29) A: No.

Q: Does the ‘Taking Multiple Courage Tests’ rule on page 47 of the main rules manual mean that a Dragon only ever has to take a single Courage test for their Survival Instinct special rule, regardless of how many Wounds they suffer in a single turn?(pg 30) A: No. They must take a Courage test for each Wound suffered.

User avatar
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:15 am

Re: NEW Lotr Hobbit FAQs released

Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:30 am

Moria™ and Angmar™ Sourcebook – version 1.3


Page 33 – Gûlavhar, Immortal Hunger At the end of the paragraph, add the following sentence: ‘Rend is the only Brutal Power Attack that enables Gûlavhar to regain a Wound in this manner.’


Q: Are Giant Spiders considered to be Spiders as defined in Drûzhag the Beastcaller’s Master of the Wild special rule and the Enrage Beast and Bestial Fury special rule? (pg 17) A: Yes.

Q: Bestial Fury 'works exactly as described for Fury in the main rules'. Does this mean it can be Heroically Channeled? (pg 17). A: Yes.

Q: Does the ‘Taking Multiple Courage Tests’ rule on page 47 of the main rules manual mean that a Dragon only ever has to take a single Courage test for their Survival Instinct special rule, regardless of how many Wounds they suffer in a single turn? (pg 21) A: No. They must take a Courage test for each Wound suffered

Q: Does the Spider Queen count as a named Hero? (pg 24) A: Yes.

User avatar
Villager
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2015 1:58 pm

Re: NEW Lotr Hobbit FAQs released: All the changes

Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:37 am

Oh Games Workshop, you had me at the Monster Hurl rule.
It's going to take a while to digest all of this, but it looks good.
LOTR: 3000pts ANGMAR, 1200 MINAS TIRITH, 2000 DWARFS, 12000 ELVES. I HAVE A PROBLEM... not enough models. :mrgreen:

User avatar
Squire
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 2:27 am

Re: NEW Lotr Hobbit FAQs released: All the changes

Fri Dec 23, 2016 4:11 am


Q: Can you rotate/spin one of your own models in your opponents’ Move or Shoot phase? (pg 21) A: No.


What do you think this means? I sometimes make my archers face the enemy so it looks more dramatic, do you think they are trying to stop this, or is it about oval based things like dragons?

Q: In situations when a model can draw multiple lines of sight to large models, who gets to choose which line the shot takes? (pg 33) A: In these situations, the shooting model's controlling player should roll a D6 before rolling To Hit. On a 1-3, the Evil player chooses the path that the shot takes. On a 4+, the Good player may choose.

Is that like for things with more than one head? or eyes that are far apart?



Q: If a Monster chooses to Hurl, can it Hurl from any point on its base or only where its base touches the target model’s base? (pg 63) A: Only where its base touches the target model’s base. However, the path of the thrown model may not cross over any part of the Hurling Monster’s base.

YAY!!! No question, just YAY!!!

Q: If a model calls a Heroic Strike, do you roll to increase their Fight value at the start of the Fight phase or at the start of the model’s Duel? (pg 59) A: At the start of the model’s Duel.


So wait, does this mean that uruk hai captains etc can never out fight my elf lords as long as whenever they call heroic strike I call heroic Combat with the elf they are fighting? They never get to use that might to add to their fight score? Great but it sounds too easy...


Q: If a model is armed with an Elven blade, lance or any other similar weapon that bestows an advantage, but chooses not to use it in a Duel, does that model still gain the advantage of having that weapon? (pg 68) A: No, the model must be using the weapon to gain its benefits. Similarly, a model will not benefit from having an Elven blade if they choose to use a shield.


Boooooooooooo :)
I would rather share one lifetime with you than face all the ages of this world alone.

Next
Return to SBG Rules Queries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest